1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Afterlife Forums is an online, interactive community designed to give seekers direct access to prominent researchers, to afterlife literature, and to one another in order to foster both spiritual growth and public interest in life after death.

Sleep paralysis or more?

Discussion in 'Afterlife Evidence' started by Beth Shaffer, Jul 18, 2020.

1. I'd like to start off by saying I'm very new to learning about the possibilities of an afterlife so please take it easy on me! Ive gotten mixed responses and answers from people I know personally when I told them this story. My dad passed away 6 days ago, 3 nights ago I had an episode while trying to fall asleep.
    I was laying on my back and all of the sudden I got feeling like someone was hugging me tightly from behind and scratching the back of my neck. I was trying to move and scream but I couldn't. Right before I jumped awake I heard an audible scream come from my mouth. I looked around and realized quickly that I hadn't made a sound because my husband was still sleeping peacefully. This happened 3-4 more times before I was able to fall asleep.
    Most of my friends were saying I'm just stressed from losing my dad and so I was having sleep paralysis even though I've never experienced it before now. One of my friends told me it might be my dad trying to visit me. Which I was obviously hoping was the case because I miss him. When he was sick in the hospital he used to scratch my wrist to show me that he knew I was there and i was hoping the scratching feeling on the back on my neck was him showing me he was there. One of my friends also told me it might be a demon trying to take advantage of my weak state and pain or astral projection. I didnt think Astral projection was possible unless you were trying and focusing to do so. Is it possible this could be my dad or was it just sleep paralysis?